Never Again!

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/never-again/”>Never Again</a>

“I’ve won!” I shouted.

“All right, no need to deafen us,” said Dad.

“What have you won?” asked Mum

“Not sure, till take the ticket in and get in checked. “

Some of the prizes in our school fund-raising raffle were really good: a day trip to London, a slap-up meal at a posh restaurant, that sort of thing. Even if I only got a book token or a box of chocolates I’d be pleased. I’d never won anything before.

“So what did you win? “Mum asked next day.

“You’re never going to believe this: two tickets for the opera.”

“But you don’t…you’ve never…”

The prizes are given out in turn. The holder of the first ticket drawn gets to pick whatever they chose, the second picks from what is left. By the time my turn came there were only a small selection of prizes, mostly things I didn’t want – a tickets for rugby match, a day’s free access to the local gym. (I get enough gym lessons at school.) A pair of tickets for the opera sounded grand. Anyway I could take my boyfriend Dan and it would be a nice romantic evening. We might even be able to go on Valentine’s Day.

Things don’t always work out to way you’ve planned. Dan sounded enthusiastic until he discovered that the opera season clashed with the school cadet force’s summer camp, something he’s been looking forward to all term. The only solution was to take someone else and the only person available was my Dad.

I’ve never appreciated opera. Yes, the costumes are splendid but the whole thing was in Italian and I hadn’t had time to read the story so hadn’t a clue what the characters were talking or rather singing about. Disappointing was my verdict and I came home with a headache from all the loud music. (I’d be told off  if I played music at that volume in my room.)

“So did you enjoy yourselves?” said Mum when we got home.

“Well,  opera isn’t really my sort of thing.”

“And you?” she asked Dad.

“Oh I quite enjoyed it,” he said, “Once I’d switched off my hearing aid.”

So now you can understand why I have vowed never to go to an opera again.

Note: This is fiction. But it is true that I don’t appreciate opera – or most other form of musical entertainment.

ESME

CG16D

 

Published by

lassfromlancashire

I am a poet, therefore I am crazy - see Shakespeare "the lunatic, the lover and the poet..." I also write plays and stories and do the press reports for my local WI. I ride a recumbent trike, a Hase Kettwiesel - I love it!

Leave a Reply

