Learnng Style

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/learning-style/”>Learning Style</a>

What’s your learning style? Do you prefer learning in a group and in an interactive setting? Or one-on-one? Do you retain information best through lectures, or visuals, or simply by reading books?

I’ve always thought of myself as a words person rather than a pictures person. I prefer to have information written down, either by me or someone else such as a teacher/lecturer.  I think this is partly due to my age. No, I don’t mean that because I am old I need to have written reminders even of everyday things like  “buy potatoes, return library books, clean sinks” etc.

I grew up B.C. – before computers when it wasn’t easy to take a quick photo of anything and everything. No smart phones, no i-pad or tablets (other than those you swallowed) and definitely no Facebook. I enjoy reading books but find I can’t always retain what I have read – this doesn’t matter if it’s only the name of a character in a novel our reading group is reading, but if I am trying to learn, say, a foreign language it is more important.

The subject studied makes a difference of course. Practical hands-on subjects lend themselves more to group instruction and demonstration by the teacher and watching how other students are doing. I’m thinking of practical classes in areas like cookery, flower arranging or painting – whether you are painting pictures or walls!

I suppose writing classes come somewhere in between. You are given a topic or a prompt, you write something and then you read it to a group and discuss it with fellow-students. On the whole I think this is probably my favourite way of taking in information and getting new ideas from those around me.

 

 

th-8th-9

 

 

ESME

 

Published by

lassfromlancashire

I am a poet, therefore I am crazy - see Shakespeare "the lunatic, the lover and the poet..." I also write plays and stories and do the press reports for my local WI. I ride a recumbent trike, a Hase Kettwiesel - I love it!

Leave a Reply

