Quits!

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/happy-endings/”>Happy Endings</a>

We’ve all heard the one about the man who says quitting smoking is easy, he’s done it twenty times.

Smoking is one of the big QUITS – there are schemes and articles and hints on how to do it plastered all over doctors’ surgeries, health centres and even chemist shops.

But no, I can’t honestly claim to have quit smoking – I just never started. When I was a student – many, many years ago and before smoking was generally condemned and smokers were treated as pariahs – I might have started on the habit, but I didn’t. I tried one cigarette and didn’t like it. It just did nothing for me, so why start? Even in the days of student grants – yes, you were actually paid to study and didn’t graduate with a massive debt hanging over you, even then I wasn’t well off and there were plenty of things that came further up my priority list than cigarettes.

The things I have stopped successfully were all quite sudden and “cold turkey” if you like. After my first child was born I decided to stop having sugar in my tea.  A very minor change but one I could manage and get a certain satisfaction from.  Forty-something years on I would find sugary tea slightly distasteful but could drink it if I had to out of politeness.

I stopped drinking coffee in the same way.  This was more of a considered decision prompted by reading about the bad effects of too much coffee and noticing how hyper I became after a caffeine intake. No big fuss. I just did it.

All the other bad habits I’ve tried to break – eating fewer sweets, giving up cakes and biscuits etc have come to nothing probably because I tried to do them gradually.  Reduce from three biscuits to two to one … it just doesn’t work for me. It has to be an all or nothing effort.

ESME

CG16D

 

 

 

Published by

lassfromlancashire

I am a poet, therefore I am crazy - see Shakespeare "the lunatic, the lover and the poet..." I also write plays and stories and do the press reports for my local WI. I ride a recumbent trike, a Hase Kettwiesel - I love it!

Leave a Reply

