Sorry, I’m busy. I’m writing.

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/sorry-im-busy/”>Sorry, I’m Busy</a>

This is one I made earlier -several years ago. But the thoughts re interruptions when writing still apply!

Persons From Porlock

“Can you give me a hand with my homework?
You’ll do it much better than me
It’s taking me ages, I must write three pages
On ‘Betjeman’s thoughts on the Sea’.
Please can I have a few biscuits?
I’ve had nothing since well before three
And Mum, can I try just one more mince pie?
It won’t stop me eating my tea!”

“All right, but stop pestering me!
I’m writing just now, can’t you see?

“Hello dear, I see you’re not busy
Could you bash out a letter for me?
To this firm in Leeds an order for seeds
And be sure they are sent c.o.d.”

“But why should it always be me?
I’m writing just now, can’t you see?
There’s a half-finished story I’m drafting
A report for the local rag too
That I really must write and send off tonight
The deadline is long overdue.
I’ve a poem that needs some reworking
And one where I’m stuck for a rhyme
I’ve pieces emphatic and epigrammatic
On medieval theatre and mime
That I’d write if only I’d time
If only…if only…I’d time!”

th-8

ESME

Published by

lassfromlancashire

I am a poet, therefore I am crazy - see Shakespeare "the lunatic, the lover and the poet..." I also write plays and stories and do the press reports for my local WI. I ride a recumbent trike, a Hase Kettwiesel - I love it!

Leave a Reply

