Character from Fiction

Tell us about a favorite character from film, theater, or literature, with whom you’d like to have a heart-to-heart. What would you talk about?

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/it-builds-character/”>It Builds Character</a>

The character I’d most like to meet and talk to is Jane Eyre from Charlotte Bronte’s novel of the same name.

One of the questions I would ask is whether she wasn’t tempted to marry St John Rivers when it seemed she wouldn’t ever see Rochester again. As I read the story St John was a good man preparing to go off to be a missionary. Jane liked and admired him and would have made a good wife for a missionary. In the story she offers to go as his assistant – nowadays when we have female curates and even bishops, I don’t suppose this would have caused any difficulties. In the story and I suppose at that time in history it would have caused almost as much scandal as eloping with Rochester and living with him as his mistress.

I know I would have been tempted to settle for St John and missionary work in India, even as a second best option. (No doubt there would have been an even more interesting story if Jane had married St John and then found out Rochester was now a widower and she faced the choice between a rather dull marriage and running away with the man she loves.)

One single line from the scene on the moors where St John proposes sticks in my mind. He looks at the river and says “I will see it again in dreams when I sleep by the Ganges” . To my mind this one bit of near-poetry redeems this rather dull character. Reader, I could have married him for that line alone!

Poet ar work

 

Published by

lassfromlancashire

I am a poet, therefore I am crazy - see Shakespeare "the lunatic, the lover and the poet..." I also write plays and stories and do the press reports for my local WI. I ride a recumbent trike, a Hase Kettwiesel - I love it!

Leave a Reply

