Practice Makes Perfect ? Or does it?

Talents – aptitudes, flairs, abilites…so the definition of “talents” goes.

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/practice-makes-perfect/”>Practice Makes Perfect?</a>

There are plenty of talents I lack. I have no musical ability or appreciation – but this is not a major problem; I don’t want to be able to sing or even simply appreciate listening to music.

There are all the languages I would like to understand – read if not speak, and all those I have a very slight knowledge of and the ones I tried to study at some time a gave up. Russian, Norwegian, Italian (all of 4 weeks when I was 20). But google translate makes a lot of this slog redundant.

I’d like to learn Chinese – but I can’t see it ever happening. I’ve always thought of it as something I could do if I had to – ie if I went to live somewhere in China where nobody understood English.  Most unlikely. And I’m sure the writing system would be beyond me. I can’t do lovely calligraphy now – I have to resort to a keyboard to achieve basic legibility.

Language fascinates me – but another language, a completely new one, I think is beyond me.

grammar

Published by

lassfromlancashire

I am a poet, therefore I am crazy - see Shakespeare "the lunatic, the lover and the poet..." I also write plays and stories and do the press reports for my local WI. I ride a recumbent trike, a Hase Kettwiesel - I love it!

Leave a Reply

