The Bare Bones

Suddenly i realised how little blogging I’ve been doing recently and felt at least I ought to do a catch up post tonight. Something I discovered only recently and which  fascinated and astounded me is that bones, like blood, can be donated. It’s not just  bone marrow transplants, either. Most of us know about these: a sibling or a close relative gives a bit of  bone marrow to help someone with some sort of condition – leukemia comes to mind but it might be something else and usually the press show nice “human interest” pictures of a proud donor and a smiling recipient and a headline about how this wonderful act saved a life. But it appears that bones can be accepted for donation in other situations, for instance when someone is having a hip joint replaced. The knob of bone cut off the top of the femur can be used in bone grafts and make an enormous difference to some patient. It’s as though when the dentist removes your tooth, you hand it back to him so it can be  used to make a set of dentures for another patient. Well, I used to be a blood donor and I’ve no objection to giving any spare parts that might be useful to someone else after my death, Heart, lungs, kidneys, liver any spare bits and pieces that can be used, my only proviso would be that I should be dead before anything is removed, I mean I wouldn’t want to wake up and find I’d only one kidney! Isn’t modern medicine marvellous!

CG16DEsme

Published by

lassfromlancashire

I am a poet, therefore I am crazy - see Shakespeare "the lunatic, the lover and the poet..." I also write plays and stories and do the press reports for my local WI. I ride a recumbent trike, a Hase Kettwiesel - I love it!

Leave a Reply

