Good News

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/supercalifragilisticexpialidocious/”>Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious</a&gt; I get some wonderful, marvellous news and what’s the first thing I do? Well I suppose it depends on what sort of news it is. I remember years ago when I won a poetry competition I could only gasp “Oh…oh. I’m overwhelmed!” I hope I could come up with some better reaction if the same thing happened now. But it comes back to what sort of good news and how far-reaching it is. If your village wins the Best Kept Village Competition you want to tell all your  friends and neighbours (including the people in the next village who didn’t win)  but it won’t make headlines in the international press. If the great news were about someone close to me who recovered from a serious illness, then  my first reaction surely  would be to give thanks to God for their recovery. My second reaction might be to go and visit them with a bunch of flowers or a box of chocs. Some pieces of wonderful news are for sharing with the world, others only affect a small circle of friends and relatives, The birth of your first grandchild is a cause for rejoicing but the celebration is limited to your immediate circle. (Though it might be a little different if the baby in question is fourth in line to the throne!) Even with the more mundane sorts of good news, there are people who are interested and those who aren’t. Imagine winning     the Booker Prize, rushing home to tell your friends only to be met with blank faces and the query “What’s the Booker Prize?” I can’t really predict what my reaction would be without knowing what the Good News is.

ESME

CG16D

Published by

lassfromlancashire

I am a poet, therefore I am crazy - see Shakespeare "the lunatic, the lover and the poet..." I also write plays and stories and do the press reports for my local WI. I ride a recumbent trike, a Hase Kettwiesel - I love it!

Leave a Reply

