Connect the Dots – Time

Connect the Dots
Sentence from chosen book:

Now if only people would let me have some Time.

Yes. this is just what I feel. There’s never enough time to do all the things I want to, need to, would like to, the things I dream of doing, hope to do, but know in my heart of hearts that I’ll never ever have the time to do them.

A quote from a poem (one of mine)
“Filling time, killing time,
Willing time to pass.
Time measured by the speaking clock
Or by the lying glass.”

I remember being at the stage where all my time seemed to be controlled by other people. Not, oddly enough, when I was a child and had to do what I was told, when I was told, when I had to go to school and come home at fixed times and do my homework each night and go to church on Sunday. Somehow the feelinf that my time was not my own didnt’t have any real effect at that stage. I just accepted it as the way things were.

No, the situation when I wished desperately for people to give me time was when I had three children living at home, a husband and, at one stage, a mother-in-law libing with us. All of them seemed to make constant demands on my time. It felt as though if I wanted to do anything – anything at all- even something as trivial as writing a postcard and taking it to the letter box, I had to check with four other people and explain what I was doing and why. Usually by the time I’d done that the urge to write a postcard or whatever had faded.

I suppose all mothers feel like that at some time and all writers do too. If only there were eight days in the week or an extra spare day at the end of each month which didn’t have a name or a number and you could use it as you wished….if only…if only

By the way the quotation came from Terry Pratchett’s “A Slip of the Keyboard collected non-fiction.”

CG16D

Published by

lassfromlancashire

I am a poet, therefore I am crazy - see Shakespeare "the lunatic, the lover and the poet..." I also write plays and stories and do the press reports for my local WI. I ride a recumbent trike, a Hase Kettwiesel - I love it!

Leave a Reply

