NEW YEAR RESOLUTIONS

As the New Year approaches, a few thoughts on Resolutions:

Why do we make them?
We know we will break them.
Mine never last more than a week.
They nag at me still
I’ve no strength of will
As the season approaches its peak.

“I’ll get up with the lark
And jog round the park
Every morning, just see if I don’t.”
“I’ll keep the kids quiet
I’ll go on a diet
And lose twenty kilos” – You won’t!
“I’ll try to stop smoking”

“You’ve got to be joking!”

“I’ll give up the beer and the wine,
I’ll drink water instead
And go early to bed
And wake up next day feeling fine.”

So why do we make them?
We’re certain to break them
They are one of our worst institutions
My New Year’s plea
And I think you’ll agree
Is to ban all New Year Resolutions.

ESME

CG16D

Published by

lassfromlancashire

I am a poet, therefore I am crazy - see Shakespeare "the lunatic, the lover and the poet..." I also write plays and stories and do the press reports for my local WI. I ride a recumbent trike, a Hase Kettwiesel - I love it!

Leave a Reply

