LISTING

Countdown
LISTING can be addictive. You know you’re hooked when you start making a list of lists and send yourself a reminder to make a list.

But Lists have their uses. some of my regular lists:

  • Daily list of Things to Do

Not quite as basic as “get out of bed”, “shower”, “clean teeth” – but not far off

  • Weekly list of what is happening in the following seven days:

meetings, outings, stuff I want to get finished to a deadline competition entries etc. Also includes reminders for birthdays and other significant days. (I don’t quite  need reminding that Christmas Day is on 25th December – not yet! But ‘m sure will come to this,eventually.)

  • Shopping lists

Am I the only one who finds Excel a helpful way to keeping track of grocery and household shopping? I have one enormous list with just about everything on it and when a trip to the supermarket is needed I go through this master list and mark off the things we’re going to need this time round.  I print it out and mark off the items as we trek round the supermarket.
Of course this isn’t infallible I’ve sometimes come home with a nice neat list  but minus a couple of the things I meant to  buy, usually important or essential items too.

  • Packing Lists

When we go on holiday, even for only a couple of nights I have a packing list of all the things that we might conceivably need during our time away. I use three columns for “His” “Hers” and “Ours” – the last-named incldes such things as sandwiches toeat on the journey, maps and chargers for mobile phones and any other electronic gadgets we are taking.

  • Then of course there are the inevitable Christmas lists -subdivided  into
    1 Christmas card
    2 Card and present
    3 Card and present and letter.

It all looks beautifully organised and efficient – I wish!

I can still get my lists into a terrible muddle. especially when writing to someone I only contact at Christmas and find myself struggling to remember some relative’s name or someone else’s address.

CG16D

ESME 

Published by

lassfromlancashire

I am a poet, therefore I am crazy - see Shakespeare "the lunatic, the lover and the poet..." I also write plays and stories and do the press reports for my local WI. I ride a recumbent trike, a Hase Kettwiesel - I love it!

Leave a Reply

