Foward or Back?

If I had a time machine and could choose whether to go forward in time or backward which would I pick? No contest. The future, of course.

If you choose the past, it’s a case of “been there, done that, got the tee-shirt”. I assume I would go back as myself and not be able to alter anything in my past. Infuriating. All the chances I missed and the things I should have done but didn’t – I’d be experiencing then all over again. Very demoralising.

No it has to be the future. Then I can find out what happened next in so many half-told stories. Did that up-and-coming star make it to the top? Did my favourite football team ever win the F.A. Cup? What were my grandchildren like when they grew up? The future is an unknown quantity and somewhere I’d delight in exploring.

ESME

Published by

lassfromlancashire

I am a poet, therefore I am crazy - see Shakespeare "the lunatic, the lover and the poet..." I also write plays and stories and do the press reports for my local WI. I ride a recumbent trike, a Hase Kettwiesel - I love it!

Leave a Reply

