PRICELESS!

I’ve noticed recently how many items are offered for sale without prices. I suppose there are some people who are affluent enough not to care about what something costs. I may even be that way myself about certain things, but usually only small inexpensive items, something like a chocolate bar in the supermarket because I want it – feel a sudden desire for something sweet and energising to get me through the morning  and I just add it to may trolley without checking that it is 5p dearer than the same item in the supermarket at the other end of town. But I wouldn’t do that with anything larger or more expensive.

I noticed several adverts today for Apple’s newest i-phone. They made a big shout about how wonderful it is and the bigger size – a whole quarter of an inch or thereabouts larger than the previous model – and how pretty the cover is  – but no mention of the price. I couldn’t believe it. If I had been trying to persuade people to buy a phone – or upgrade an existing phone – one aspect I would stress would be price. Our phones are bigger and better and cost less than our rivals. For only £x or $x you can get the latest phone with all these wonderful new features. But no, price isn’t mentioned.

Do they assume that when customers get to the checkout they’ll be ashamed to object if an item costs more than they expect to pay?

Recently I went to a demonstration about making chocolate, very interesting, not to say very tempting. At the end of the talk there were displays of different sort of chocolate laid out for us to buy. White chocolate, milk chocolate, dark chocolate with varying amounts of cocoa powder included. there were chocolate models, bunnies, eggs, even frogs – but none of them were priced. I didn’t buy any I and wonder if the chocolatier lost other customers because they had no idea of what they were letting themselves in for when they bought a chocolate bar.

All very puzzling. Are we perhaps going back to barter as a method of deciding a price? “I’ll give you £1.50 for that chocolate cake. Take it or leave it.” Perhaps the saleswoman will talk me up to £2 or I’ll get her to lower the price.Unfortuantely I can’t see that working in our local supermarket.

ESME

CG16D

Published by

lassfromlancashire

I am a poet, therefore I am crazy - see Shakespeare "the lunatic, the lover and the poet..." I also write plays and stories and do the press reports for my local WI. I ride a recumbent trike, a Hase Kettwiesel - I love it!

Leave a Reply

