Getting In

Why are some containers made – apparently deliberately – so difficult to access? The so-called “child-proof” lids on medicine containers are also effectively granny-proof. I had to ask my pharmacy to put my medicines in “normal” openable bottles. I don’t have a houseful of small children so there’s no danger of them eating granny’s pills in mistake for sweets.

Then there are boxes and packets from the supermarket. The time I’ve spent trying to tear open a pack usually ending up with biscuit crumbs all over the floor. What really gets me is the way elastoplasts – I think they are usually called “Band-Aids” in US. They are not just in a packet or tin as in the good old days, they are individually wrapped and it can take some time and ingenuity to fight your way into them.

I have an idea for a story where an old lady tries in vain to find something to eat and can’t manage to open any of the packages. In despair she gets a knife and hacks at the packaging. Then inevitably (this is a story) she cuts her finger and searches for something to stop the bleeding. While she is trying to get at the plaster to apply to her finger she bleeds to death. Fantasy? Maybe – but only maybe. It might be the foretaste of what is to come.

Over the past week or so I’ve had problems with a) a CD in its “jewel case” – I think that’s the name it’s a square plastic cover that doesn’t seem to have any obvious way to open it. I finally had to ask for help and then I found I had the file already  on my computer – I could have saved all that trouble! b) the top of a bottle of mouthwash and c) various packet of biscuits where you need to pull apart a cellophane bag to get to the contents, not to mention apples that need cutting up and boxes on high shelves that I can’t reach. How do other people manage these awkward jobs, particularly if they are old and live alone?

ESME

CG16D

Published by

lassfromlancashire

I am a poet, therefore I am crazy - see Shakespeare "the lunatic, the lover and the poet..." I also write plays and stories and do the press reports for my local WI. I ride a recumbent trike, a Hase Kettwiesel - I love it!

Leave a Reply

