You’ve a Lot to Answer for, Mr Wordsworth

Here’s one I “made earlier”. But it’s appropriate as we get close to St David’s day and the daffodil season. My take on what I freely admit is a splendid poem – Willam Wordsworth’s “Daffodils.”  I just wish the Lakes weren’t so overrun with tourists.

 

I wandered brooding like a cloudMB900151259
Whose lowering mass the valley fills,
When down the lane there came a crowd
Of hikers heading for the hills,
Beside the lake, beneath the trees
They tramp, heads bent against the breeze.

As many as the stars that shine,
Munching a Mars or Milky War,

Discarded litter marks their lineMB900151259
Along the margin of the bay,
A hundred – almost – at a glance
Pray, someone stop this fell advance!

 Beside them dogs and children run,
Discordant music rends the air,
Walks with a mob are scarcely fun,
For crowded paths I do not care.
An inward shudder prompts the thought
These crowds are what your poems have brought! 

MB900151259

 Alas! You’ll often hear me sigh
Or curse when in a blacker mood
That nowhere in the Lakes can I
Find poets’ heaven – Solitude!
My mind with bitter rancour fills
I damn your bloody daffodils!

 

CG16D

ESME

Published by

lassfromlancashire

I am a poet, therefore I am crazy - see Shakespeare "the lunatic, the lover and the poet..." I also write plays and stories and do the press reports for my local WI. I ride a recumbent trike, a Hase Kettwiesel - I love it!

Leave a Reply

